Skip to main content
McMaster University Menu Search
Seminars

Past Seminars

Seminars, Winter 2019

Wednesday, 13 March, 12:30 - 2:00 p.m.
Speaker: The Hooker Distinguished Visiting Professor: Gianluca Violante, Princeton University 
Title: The Housing Boom and Bust: Model meets Evidence
Host: Bettina Brueggemann

Monday, 18 March, 2:30 - 3:30 p.m.
Speaker: Doug Davis, Virginia Commonwealth University
Title: Liquidity Requirements and the Interbank Loan Market: An Experimental Investigation
Host: Stuart Mestelman

Wednesday, 27 March, 12:30 - 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Xue Bai, Brock University
Title: Learning from Processing Trade: Firm Evidence from China
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday, 29 March, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Baris Kaymak, University of Montreal
Title: Loss-Offset Provisions in the Corporate Tax Code and Misallocation of Capital
Host: Zach Mahone

Wednesday, 3 April, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Adam Lavecchia, McMaster University
Title: The timing of tax incentives for saving, asset location and crowd-out: Evidence from Tax-Free Savings Accounts

Thursday, 4 April, 11:30 – 1:00 p.m.
Speaker: Tim Kehoe, University of Minnesota
Title: implications of Increasing College Attainment for Aging in General Equilibrium
Host: Mike Veall

Friday, 5 April, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Vasia Panousi, Universite de Montreal
Title: Pharmaceutical Patents in Canada
Host: Bettina Brueggemann

Wednesday, 10 April, 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.
Speaker: Thomas Winberry, University of Chicago, Booth School of Business
Title: Investment Networks, Sectoral Comovement, and the Changing U.S. Business Cycle
Host: Gajendran Raveendranathan

Friday, 12 April, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Arpad Abraham, European University Institute 
Title: Climbing the Wage Ladders: Determining the Sources of Idiosyncratic Wage Dynamics and Implications for Policy
Host: Pau Pujolas

Monday, 15 April, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Edouard Schaal, CREI and Universitat Pompeu Fabra 
Title: Optimal Transport Networks in Spatial Equilibrium
Host: Zach Mahone

Friday, 26 April, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Erwann Sabi, University of Auckland
Title:  Regularized Nonparametric Estimation of First-Price Private Value Auction
Host: Jeff Racine

Wednesday, 1 May, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Natalie Malak, University of Alabama
Title: First, do no harm, second, say sorry?
Host: Arthur Sweetman

Thursday, 2 May, 12:30 – 2:00 p.m.
Speaker: Rose Anne Devlin, University of Ottawa
Title: Doing Good, Feeling Good: Causal Evidence from Volunteers
Host: Arthur Sweetman 

Seminars, Fall 2018

Thursday, 30 August, 2:30 - 4:00 p.m.
Speaker: Eugene Beaulieu, University of Calgary
Title: Why are Women More Protectionist than Men?
Hosts: Mike Veall, Pau Pujolas

Wednesday, 12 September, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Luba Peterson, Simon Fraser University
Title: Macroeconomic Literacy and Expectations" (with Michael Mirdamadi)
Hosts: Stuart Mestelman

Friday, 14 September, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: David Freeman, Simon Fraser University
Title: Revealing Sophistication and Naïveté from Procrastination and Preproperation
Host: Stuart Mestelman

Wednesday, 19 September, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Christos Shiamptanis, Wilfrid Laurier University
Title: Austerity Measures: Do they avert solvency crises?
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday, 26 September, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Peter Morrow, University of Toronto
Title: Is Processing Good?: Theory and Evidence from China
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday, 28 September, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Heather Sarsons, University of Toronto
Title: Interpreting Signals in the Labor Market: Evidence from Medical Referrals
Host: Steve Jones and Kate Cuff

Wednesday, 3 October, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Guy Tchuente, University of Kent
Title:Does Obamacare Care? A Fuzzy Difference-in-discontinuities Approach
Host: Jeff Racine

Friday, 5 October, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: George Stephanidis, York University
Title: IMF Lending in Sovereign Default
Host: Gajen Raveendranathan

Wednesday, 17 October, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Clara Santamaria Monturiol, CEMFI
Title: Small Teams in Big Cities: Inequality, City Size, and the Organization of Production
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday, 24 October, 12:30 – 1:00 p.m.
Speaker: Dana Galizia, Carleton University
Title: Putting the Cycle Back into Business Cycle Analysis
Host: Zach Mahone

Friday, 26 October, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Arthur Blouin, University of Toronto
Title: Culture and Contracts: The Historical Legacy of Forced Labour
Host: Zach Mahone

Wednesday, 31 October, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Todd Morris, University of Melbourne
Title: Unequal Burden of Retirement Reform: Evidence from Australia
Host: Mike Veal

Friday, 2 November, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Cormac O'Dea, Yale University 
Title: Isurance, Efficiency and the Design of Public Pensions
Host: Kate Cuff

Wednesday, 7 November, 12:30 - 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Richard Chisik, Ryerson University
Title: The Paradox of Transfers: Distribution and the Dutch Disease.
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday, 14 November, 12:30 - 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Nouri Najjar, Ivey School of Business, Western University
Title: Environmental Regulations Affect the Decision to Export? (with Jevan Cherniwchan)
Host: Mike Veall

Friday, 16 November, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Kyle Herkenhoff, University of Minnesota
Title: Production and Learning in Teams
Host: Gajen Raveendranathan

Wednesday, 21 November, 12:30 - 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Miguel Cardoso, Brock University
Title: Immigrants and Exports: Firm-level Evidence from Canada
Host: Mike Veall

Friday, 23 November, 3:00 – 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Sophie Osotimehin, Brock University
Title: Misallocation and intersectoral linkages
Host: Alok Johri

Wednesday, 28 November, 12:30 – 1:30 p.m.
Speaker: Kyle Dempsy, The Ohio State University
Title: Macroprudential Capital Requirements with Non-Bank Finance
Host: Gajen Raveendranathan

Friday, 30 November, 3:00 - 4:30 p.m.
Speaker: Theodore Papageorgiou, McGill University
Title: Global Transport Markets: Impact on Trade and Efficiency
Host: Zach Mahone