Skip to main content
McMaster University Menu Search
Seminars

2015-2016

Seminars, Winter 2016

Wednesday January 6, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Luc Clair, McMaster University
Title: Nonparametric Kernel Regression With Mixed Data Types Using Complex Survey Data

Wednesday January 27, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Harry Krashinsky, University of Toronto
Title: How does education affect lifetime fertility? Evidence from compulsory schooling laws
Host: Phil Decicca

Wednesday February 24, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Yu (Sonja) Chen, University of Waterloo
Title: Adverse selection in the labour market and the demand for vocational education
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday March 11, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Ben Marx, University of Illinois
Title: Default Bias in Borrowing: Evidence from a Field Experiment on Federal Student Loans
Host: Abigail Payne

Wednesday March 16, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Matthew Doyle, University of Waterloo
Title: Skill Mismatch in Competitive Search Equilibrium
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday March 18, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Enoch Hill, Wheaton College 
Title: Cautious Hiring
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday March 23, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Claustre Bajona, Ryerson University
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday March 30, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Brian McCaig, Wilfrid Laurier University 
Title: Out with the old and unproductive, in with the new and similarly unproductive: Microenterprise dynamics in a growing low-income economy
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday April 1, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Catherine Maclean, Temple University
Title: The impact of medical marijuana access on the chronic pain and labor supply of older adults: Evidence from the Health and Retirement Study
Host: Phil DeCicca

Friday April 15, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Uta Shoenberg, UCL
Title: Spillover Effects of Mass Layoffs 
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Wednesday April 27, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Colin Stewart, University of Toronto 
Title: Rational Inattention Dynamics: Inertia and Delay in Decision-Making
Host: Maxim Ivanov

Friday April 29, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm 
Speaker: Tom Crossley, University of Essex
Title: Lost in Translation: What Do Engel Curves Tell Us About the Cost of Living?
Host: Phil DeCicca

Wednesday May 4, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Nathan Yang, McGill University
Title: Dynamic Franchising Decisions
Host: Laura Grigolon

Friday May 6, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm 
Speaker: Patricia Gomez, Fordham University
Title: Same Spain, Less Pain?
Host: Pau Pujolas

Monday May 9, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm 
Speaker: Jack Rossback, SUNY Albany
Host: Pau Pujolas

 

Seminars, Fall 2015

Wednesday September 9, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Joel Blit, University of Waterloo
Title: Do Stronger Intellectual Property Rights Promote Firm R&D? Evidence Using Export Markets
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday September 18, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: James MacKinnon, Queen's University 
Title: Wild Bootstrap Inference for Wildly Different Cluster Sizes (first paper), Difference-in-Differences Inference with Few Treated Clusters (second paper)
Host: Arthur Sweetman

Wednesday September 23, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Joanne Song, SUNY Buffalo
Title: Long-term Unemployment in the Great Recession: Have Employment Protection Laws Contributed?
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Friday September 25, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm 
Speaker: Hanzhe Zhang, Michigan State University
Title: Pre-Matching Gamble
Host: Seungjin Han

Friday October 2, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm 
Speaker: Mario Goussé, Laval University
Title: Marriage, Labor Supply, and Home Production
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Wednesday October 7, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Waheed Olagunju, McMaster University
Host: César Sosa-Padilla

Wednesday October 21, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Maripier Isabelle, University of Toronto
Title: Physician incentives and the rise in c-sections: Evidence from Canada
Host: Phil DeCicca

Friday October 23, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Kevin Donovan, University of Notre Dame
Title: Subsistence Entrepreneurs and Talent Misallocation
Host: Pau Pujolas

Thursday October 29, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Fernando Aragon, Simon Fraser University
Title: Mining closure, gender, employment reallocations: the case of UK coal mines
Host: Kate Cuff

Friday October 30, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Burhan Kuruscu, University of Toronto
Title: Use it or Lose it: Efficiency Gains from Wealth Taxation 
Host: Cesar Sosa Padilla 

Wednesday November 4, 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm
Speaker: Jane Friesen, Simon Fraser University 
Title: Private schools and student achievement
Host: Abigail Payne 

Friday November 6, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Naoki Aizawa, University of Minnesota
Title: Health Insurance Exchange Design in an Empirical Equilibrium Labor Market Model
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Wednesday November 11, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Cheng Chen, University of Hong Kong
Title: Outward FDI and Domestic Input Distortions: Evidence from Chinese Firms
Host: Svetlana Demidova

Friday November 12. 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Vincenzo Quadrini, University of Southern California
Title: The Growth of Emerging Economies and Global Macroeconomic Stability
Host: Cesar Sosa Padilla

Wednesday November 18. 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Joe Lesica, McMaster University
Title: Lobbying for Minimum Wages 
Host: Seungjin Han

Friday November 20, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Pierre Thomas Leger, HEC Montreal
Title: Physician Practice Style and Healthcare Costs: Evidence from Emergency Departments
Host: Arthur Sweetman

Wednesday November 25, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Tammy Schirl, Wilfrid Laurier University
Title: Work Capacity and Health of Older Canadians
Host: Mike Veall

Friday November 27, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Zachary Mahone, University of Minnesota
Title: Move it and Lose it? The Portability of On-the-Job Training
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday December 2, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Laura Turner, University of Toronto
Title: Two-Factor Matching and Time Use in Labor and Marriage Markets
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi