Skip to main content
McMaster University Menu Search
Seminars

2014-2015

Seminars, Winter 2015

Friday January 9, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: David Wiczer, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
Title: Occupational Hazards and Social Disability Insurance
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday January 16, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Richard Mansfield, Cornell University
Title: TBA
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Friday January 23, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Cristina Arellano, Minneapolis Fed
Title: TBA
Host: Cesar Sosa-Padilla

Wednesday January 28, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: German Pupato, Ryerson University
Title: Performance Pay, Trade and Inequality
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday January 30, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Yoto Yotov, Drexel University
Title: TBA
Host: Svetlana Demidova

Wednesday February 4, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Nirav Mehta, Western University
Title: TBA
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Friday February 6, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Speaker: Lisa Barrow, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
Title: TBA
Host: Abigail Payne

Wednesday February 25, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Gabor Virag, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto
Title: TBA
Host: Seungjin Han

Friday February 27, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Nicholas Ziebarth, Cornell University
Title: TBA
Host: Philip DeCicca

Wednesday March 4, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Ling Sun, Brock University
Title: TBA
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday March 6, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Bram Cadsby, University of Guelph
Title: TBA
Host: Stuart Mestelman

Wednesday March 11, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Derek Stacey, Ryerson University
Title: TBA
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday March 13, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Stefano Gnocchi, Bank of Canada
Title: TBA
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday March 18, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Jeanne Tschopp, Ryerson University
Title: TBA
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday March 20, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Alberto Martin, CREi and IMF
Title: TBA
Host: Cesar Sosa-Padilla

Wednesday March 25, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Katerina Koka, Brock University
Title: TBA
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday March 27, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Kitt Carpenter, Vanderbilt University
Title: TBA
Host: Philip DeCicca

Wednesday April 8, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Audrey Laporte, University of Toronto
Title: TBA
Host: Arthur Sweetman

Friday April 10, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm 
Speaker: Zachary Mahone, University of Minnesota 
Title: TBA 
Host: Pau Pujolas

Tuesday April 14, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm (Note special day and time)
Speaker: David Card, UC Berkeley
Title: TBA
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Speaker: Ragan Petrie, George Mason University, Distinguished short-term visitor
Thursday April 16, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm, state-of-the-art lecture
Title: TBA

Friday April 17, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm, research seminar
Title: TBA
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Friday April 24, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Jan Grobovsek, University of Edinburgh
Title: TBA
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday May 1, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Isa Hafalir, Carnegie Mellon University
Title: TBA
Host: Maxim Ivanov

 

Seminars, Fall 2014

Monday September 8, 3:30 pm - 4:50 pm (note special day and time)
Speaker: Mark Schankerman, London School of Economics
Title: Patents and Cumulative Innovation: Causal Evidence from the Courts
Host: joint between Department of Economics and School of Business

Wednesday September 10, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Barb Bloemhof, McMaster University
Title: Course Perceptions and Approaches to Learning Using Problem-Based Learining for International Economics
Host: Seungjin Han 

Wednesday September 17, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Joe Lesica, McMaster University
Title: A Lobbying Model of Public Good Provision
Host: Seungjin Han

Friday September 19, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Rene Kirkegaard, University of Guelph
Title: A Unifying Approach to Incentive Compatibility in Moral Hazard Problems
Host: Maxim Ivanov

Wednesday September 24, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: John Burbidge, University of Waterloo
Title: The Role of Community Taxation in Pareto Efficient Tax Structures for Redistribution (related paper, see section 2)
Host: Mike Veall

Friday September 26, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm (cancelled)
Speaker: Chao Fu, University of Wisconsin
Title: Structural Estimation of a Model of School Choices: the Boston Mechanism vs. Its Alternatives 
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Friday October 3, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Francisco Gonzalez, University of Waterloo
Title: Naive policies against child labor can harm the children of developing nations
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday October 8, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Andrew Ching, University of Toronto
Title: The Effects of Publicity on Demand: The Case of Anti-Cholesterol Drugs
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Friday October 17, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Sergio Urzua, University of Maryland
Title: One Size Does Not Fit All: Multiple Dimensions of Ability, College Attendance and Wages
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Friday October 24, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Vivian Yue, Emory University
Title: A Model of the Twin Ds: Optimal Default and Devaluation
Host: Cesar Sosa-Padilla

Wednesday November 5, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Carl Sanders, Washington University in St. Louis (visiting Western)
Title:Reading Skills and Earnings: Why Do Doing Words Good Hurt You're Wages?
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Thursday November 6, 12:30 pm -1:50 pm (Note special day and time)
Speaker: Franck Portier, Toulouse School of Economics
Title: News Driven Business Cycles: Insights and Challenges
Host: Alok Johri

Friday November 7, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Jessica Pan, National University of Singapore (visiting Princeton)
Title: Gender Gap under Pressure: Performance and Reaction to Shocks
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi

Thursday November 13, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm (Note special day)
Speaker: Sushant Acharya, New York Fed
Title: Dispersed Beliefs and Aggregate Demand Management
Host: Cesar Sosa-Padilla

Friday November 14, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Stephane Mechoulan, Dalhousie University
Title: Intra-household allocation of family resources and birth order: Evidence from France using siblings data
Host: Paul Contoyannis

Wednesday November 19, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm (cancelled)
Speaker: Ramses Armendariz, University of Minnesota
Title: TBA
Host: Pau Pujolas

Friday November 21, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker: Ram Acharya, Industry Canada
Title: TBA
Host: Pau Pujolas

Wednesday November 26, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm
Speaker: Jeff Racine, McMaster University
Title: TBA
Host: Seungjin Han

Friday November 28, 3:00 pm - 4:20 pm
Speaker:Tim Conley, Western University (moved to December 3)
Title: Detecting bidders groups in collusive auctions
Host: Arthur Sweetman

Wednesday December 3, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm 
Speaker: Stephanie Lluis, University of Waterloo (cancelled)
Title: Employment Insurance and Post-Unemployment Outcomes: How Do Men and Women Fare?
Host: Arthur Sweetman

Speaker: Joseph Altonji, Yale University, Hooker Distinguished Visiting Speaker

Wednesday December 10, 12:30 pm - 1:20 pm (Department seminar, KTH 334)
Title: Cashier or Consultant? Entry Labor Market Conditions, Field of Study, and Career Success        

Thursday December 11, 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm (Public lecture, KTH 334)
Title: The Importance of Field of Study: high school curriculum, college major, and career outcomes


Friday December 12, 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm (Department seminar, KTH 334)
Title: Estimating School and Neighborhood Effects with Sorting on Unobservables
Host: Shintaro Yamaguchi